The Scientific Committee

Made up of 30 world-renowned scientists, the committee must ensure that Telethon funds are assigned to the most promising projects among those responding to our competition announcements. It must also monitor the work of these institutes.

Our scientific committee places excellence at the heart of every evaluation; this is the principle which our committee members’ choice of worthy projects to fund is based on, yet never forgetting that the same projects must be relevant to the patients and contribute towards finding a cure. Our scientific committee members are from all over the world and remain in office for four years. Only a few Italians are among these, so as to avoid conflicts of interest.

The members of the Scientific Committee

Our Scientific Committee is generally made up of 30 members; at the moment we are recruiting new members to complete the team. Current members are:

William Balch - The Scripps Research Institute (La Jolla, CA - USA)
Judith Campisi – Buck Institute for Research on Aging (Novato, CA – USA)
Marie-François Chesselet – David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA (Los Angeles, CA – USA)
Jeffrey Dilworth - Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (Ottawa - Canada)
James Ellis - The Hospital for Sick Children (Toronto - Canada)
Markus Glatzel – University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf, UKE (Hamburg – Germany)
Dimitri Krainc – Chicago Northwestern University (Chicago – USA)
Holger Lerche University of Tübingen (Tübingen - Germany)
Geert Mortier - Antwerp University Hospital (Antwerp - Belgium)
Nael Nadif Kasir – Radboud University Nijmegen (Nijmegen – The Netherlands)
Frances Platt - University of Oxford (Oxford - UK)
Ambra Pozzi - Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN - USA)
Laura Ranum - University of Florida (Gainesville, FL - USA)
Nicholas J Schork - J. Craig Venter Institute (La Jolla, CA - USA)
Naomi Taylor - Institute of Molecular Genetics of Montpellier (Montpellier - France)
Robert Taylor - Newcastle University (Newcastle - UK)
Jakub Tolar - University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN - USA)
Raul Urrutia - Mayo Clinic (Rochester, MN - USA)
Charles Venditti – National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH (Bethesda – USA)